What are the consequences of having no proof of insurance in Connecticut?

Driving without auto insurance is always a risk, and if you do it in a state that requires insurance, like Connecticut, you run the risk of very serious consequences. In Connecticut towns like Marlborough or West Hartford, there are two insurance laws that can get you into trouble–the first is the requirement that you have liability insurance if you drive a motor vehicle and the second is that you be able to show proof of financial responsibility, often achieved through insurance.

The Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) works with insurers to match insurance records to registration records and take action against the owners of uninsured vehicles. Insurance companies will also notify the DMV whenever a policy is dropped or canceled, which then prompts the DMV to issue a warning notice that includes a $200 fine which must be paid if you want to avoid the possibility of having your registration suspended.

You are required by the state of Connecticut to carry an insurance card or declarations page in your car or on your person at all times when you are driving. Since there are basically two laws that govern Connecticut insurance, you’re looking at a combination of fines if you are caught without proof of insurance and without proof of financial responsibility. The combination of fines and penalties basically amounts to a minimum of a $110 and the impounding of your car. You will also end up paying towing and storage fees. Subsequent offenses can lead to penalties that are much more severe.

The best way to avoid these consequences is, of course, to have auto insurance. In the vicinity of West Hartford or Marlborough, we are your independent agent who can compare quotes and policies to get you the best possible auto insurance at the best possible rate.

What is financial responsibility with regards to auto insurance?

One of the requirements in order to be able to get your car registered and drive legally in the state of Connecticut is to demonstrate financial responsibility. If you are involved in an accident and are found liable for damages to another person’s property or causing injury or death to that person, you must have the financial means to compensate that individual. Most people in Marlborough and West Hartford purchase auto insurance to meet their financial responsibility requirements.

The state of Connecticut holds the driver responsible, under tort law, for claims that arise from an at-fault accident. If you do not demonstrate financial responsibility by showing proof that you carry the state’s minimum mandatory bodily injury and property damage coverage, you can face serious consequences including the revocation of your registration and loss of driving privileges for three months.

Connecticut requires drivers to carry at least 20/40/15 liability coverage. What that means is that if you are found guilty of an accident that causes damage to property or injury to one or more people, your insurance will pay out up to $20,000 for bodily injury to one person or a maximum of $40,000 for all people injured in the same accident. Your insurance will also cover property damage up to the policy limit of $15,000.

While carrying the state mandatory liability coverage will allow you to get your car registered and get a drivers’ license, it may not be enough to cover a serious at-fault accident. Financial responsibility extends beyond the law. As your independent agent, we advise our clients to buy enough liability insurance to fit your personal situation.

If you have assets like a house or an investment account and a judgment is entered against you for an amount that exceeds your minimum liability coverage, you could be sued and held liable for the additional amount. You do not have to take chances with your financial future when you spend a little more and get the insurance coverage you need.

Adding teen driver to a Connecticut car insurance policy

It’s no secret that your Connecticut car insurance policy will go up when you add a teen driver. Fortunately, there’s ways to keep the rise in your auto coverage as small as possible. The best thing to do first is to come in and talk to us. As an independent agent we can provide you with information on a lot of different policies from several companies. That can help you to choose the best policy for you and your teen driver. You’ll want to pay attention to the price, of course, but you’ll also want to know that the coverage is good in the event of an accident.

Whether you live in Marlborough or West Hartford, you want to be sure your teen is safe without having to break the bank to insure him or her. You can help your financial situation by making sure that your young driver takes driver’s education or another safety course so you can get a discount. Some insurance companies have special discounts that are offered if the driver completes their specific safety course, so that’s something to ask about. If your teen attends college and makes good grades, that’s also another discount through many insurance companies.

Overall, it’s always going to raise your premiums when you add a teen driver to your auto policy. Still, you want your teen to be independent, and some of that comes from learning to drive and do things on his or her own. Adding your son or daughter to your car insurance also shows that you’re serious about trusting your child, and you acknowledge that he or she is growing up. Those kinds of things can be hard to do for any parent, but they’re important rites of passage. With a good insurance policy, you’ll save money and also protect your teen.

Does Connecticut home insurance cover leaking roof?

When you have a home, one of the things you have to pay attention to is your roof. If it’s leaking, you could be in real trouble because of the water damage that will occur. Places like Marlborough and West Hartford also have a lot of older homes, and the chance of having a leaky roof on an older home is much higher than it would be for a new one. One of the things you’ll need to focus on if you’re going to make an insurance claim for your roof is what caused the leak. Most Connecticut insurers will cover the damage for certain types of leaks, but not for others.

A hurricane that caused harm to your roof, for example, wouldn’t be covered unless you have a hurricane policy – and most people in Connecticut don’t carry that kind of insurance. The rarity of those types of storms keeps that kind of insurance policy from being required there, but if there is a hurricane you would like find that the leak in your roof caused by it wouldn’t be covered. To avoid the risk of not being covered, talk to an independent agent like us about your insurance policy.

By working with us to get the proper coverage, you’ll know that leaking roofs and all kinds of other problems will be covered by your policy. That can provide you with a lot of peace of mind, and also help ensure that you don’t have financial troubles if your house is damaged in a storm or if the roof simply gets too old and starts to leak. Some insurance companies will require that you get your roof replaced if it looks too bad, so you won’t have a leak and the company won’t be obligated to pay a claim. Keeping your roof in good shape is important to keep your insurance rates low.