Proudly Serving Connecticut, North Carolina, and Florida


Click to Call
AllConnecticut Insurance Brokers

1107 New Britain Avenue
West Hartford CT 06110

Get Directions
Connecticut Autoowners with Auto Insurance Coverage

Auto Insurance

Get Quotes Below!

Get a Quote Instantly

Auto Insurance Rates

Connecticut drivers are required to carry auto insurance coverage to protect themselves and other drivers financially in case of an accident. According to the Connecticut Department of State and Motor Vehicles, drivers must carry a very specific amount of coverage at minimum.

Those minimum coverage requirements include at least $25,000 per individual for injuries, with at least $50,000 available per accident, as well as $50,000 available for death per individual, with at least $100,000 available per accident. Furthermore, you must carry at least $10,000 in property damage liability coverage.

Connecticut auto insurance coverage requirements do not merely apply to motorists in order to operate a vehicle. Instead, insurance is a requirement to register a vehicle with the state. In other words, even if you do not drive the vehicle, you must keep minimum insurance coverage to keep your registration current. Furthermore, you must purchase all insurance from a licensed Connecticut insurer.

The only exception is for vehicles that are not registered in Connecticut. If you have recently moved to Connecticut, however, you cannot obtain state vehicle registration until you provide the Department of Motor Vehicles with proof of state minimum insurance coverage. Once you obtain coverage, you must register the vehicle within 45 days of the effective coverage date.

Even here in West Hartford, Avon New Britain and Farmington -- areas of Connecticut that seem to be a little quieter and less crowded than other parts of the state -- drivers must still adhere to state insurance laws. Failure to do so can result in an immediate suspension of your car's registration, as well as an eventual suspension of your driver's license. The state will also charge a $50 fee to reinstate your license.

At AllConnecticut Insurance Brokers, we help drivers find and compare car insurance quotes from multiple insurers. Our quotes are free and carry no obligation. If you are in the market for new auto insurance in Connecticut, take advantage of our online quote request, or contact our office today. We look forward to helping you.

Connect With Us

for all your insurance needs!